When All Around My Soul Gives Way, He then is All My Hope and Stay

When All Around My Soul Gives Way, He then is All My Hope and Stay

Turmoil, unrest, uncertainty, frustration, anger, it’s everywhere, and it’s exhausting. Times like these it’s so easy to slip into an anxious stupor and lose center.  Last Monday as the stock market tumbled after a weekend filled with angst over a down-grade in my country’s credit rating, I found myself turning away from the bright hope generated through relationship with God and instead clicking through internet commentaries on the state of affairs and listening to a variety of cable news channels all in an effort to find some glimmer of hope, a silver lining, or a logical explanation. None came. Anxiety grew.

During one such pointing and clicking session as I searched for “truth” the Gentle Whisper nudged my soul. “This is no way for a daughter of mine to behave. Have you forgotten who you are?” I felt ashamed that I had allowed my spirit to be so deeply influenced by anything other than the Divinely Other of the Almighty God to whom I belong. I wish I could report that I was instantly brought back in balance in that moment, but I wasn’t. I was simply reminded of my wayward thoughts and futile methods for peace finding. But as they say, admitting you have a problem is the first step toward recovery.

I am a glass is half full kind of girl in a glass is half empty kind of world. I feel I am more and more of an oddity and feel more and more alone, and more and more like I’m going the wrong way on a one way street and it makes me lose my nerve and question my insight. Ultimately it pulls at me until I go searching for truth in all the wrong places. I am so thankful the God that I worship goes after me when I stray too far from the place I belong. I am so glad I had not wandered so far into the abyss of despondency that my soul could not respond to the pull of Light on my thinking. So now that I’ve admitted my problem, I can cooperate with God toward a solution.

The gentle whisper reprimanded me, reminding me to remember who I am. I am a daughter of the Most High God who says,

“But I do not need the bulls from your barns or the goats from your pens.  For all the animals of the forest are mine, and I own the cattle on a thousand hills.  I know every bird on the mountains, and all the animals of the field are mine.  If I were hungry, I would not tell you, for all the world is mine and everything in it. (Psalm 50:9-12)

and…

 “Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool. Where is the house you will build for me?    Where will my resting place be?  Has not my hand made all these things, and so they came into being?”  (Isaiah 66:1-2)

And particularly poignant for girls like me who like to wear pretty clothes;

“Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are.  And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

And don’t be concerned about what to eat and what to drink. Don’t worry about such things. These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers all over the world, but your Father already knows your needs.  Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need.

So don’t be afraid, little flock. For it gives your Father great happiness to give you the Kingdom.” (Luke 12:27-32)

And the crème de la crème:

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. 7 Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” (Philippians 4:6-9)

In 1834, Edward Mote penned a beautiful hymn. I woke up singing it today:

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

Refrain:
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

After I fight against my wrong thinking with the beauty and strength of the ancient living scriptures, and permit a song to flow freely through my heart, I think I’ll turn off the television and boycott the internet while this too passes. I have a good book to read anyway. Care to join me?

© Twirling Girl, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Twirling Girl with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Comments

  1. Roger Nolan says:

    I like it too.

  2. Shalom to you – God’s perfect peace. I often pray that God would prepare me & family & all those that are His for the times ahead – so that we are not anxious & that we will not be caught in weakness – unable to stand – but only He can strengthen & keep us.

  3. i stumbled across your blog as i googled the lyrics to that wonderful hymn. Praise God for your love for him, because he loved you first. you are a light and certainly not alone as we battle to keep our ears free of the worldly counsel that just leaves the thirsty still in want and the hungry unsatisfied (isaiah 32:6)
    may our hearts always remain guided and whispered to by our father as we desire to be the lamb held on his shoulders to be nearest his heart.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

