God Blows my Tiny Little Mind

Hubble Galaxy Photo

It’s God I’m after; the Divine manifestation of Pure Love and Light pulsing through my thoughts, my motives, my actions, residing at the core of my very essence. I’m not after the God of my imagination, I’m after the God that exists independent of my mind. I want the God that reshapes my desires in accordance with the beauty of God’s own character, not a God that simply gratifies my human longings as I perceive them to be. I have experienced glimpses of perfect peace and those moments come from letting go of my preconceived ideas of who and what God is and allowing Divine Grace to envelop my spirit.

“We need to be willing to let our very effort to know God slide out of our hands, opening them to God’s continued and unexpected self-revelation.”

-Miroslav Volf, Free of Charge

We do ourselves great disservice when we make the mistake of reducing God’s ways to our ways. “For as the heavens are higher that the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:9) It is difficult for me to comprehend with my tiny little mind the infinite majesty of God and the mysterious ways the Divine weaves beauty into the midst of our human experience. I only know that it happens. And I know that it’s this magnificence I seek.

I have learned the joy that comes from desiring God alone and nothing this world has to offer can compare to being infused with Divine presence. It’s God I’m after, and as it turns out, God is after me and God is after you!  I invite you to join me in my quest, and allow Divine Grace to reveal God’s beauty to you. You will find satisfaction – and the desires of your heart will be made complete. Allow God to be revealed to you through the truth of scripture and by tuning your spiritual ear to the Gentle Whisper. God will blow your mind!

© Beside Still Waters, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Beside Still Waters with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
