When God Breathes

When I was sixteen, a guest preacher came to our little church. After a brief message he stepped down from the platform and began speaking to individuals in the audience with specific passages from the Bible as he felt the Holy Spirit directing him. It was understood that the scripture given was meant to be accepted as a God-breathed message meant specifically for the hearer. He made no commentary, simply quoted the verse, and moved on.  It was powerful – yet I never speak of it. Westernized Christianity doesn’t easily embrace that type of behavior. The idea that the Holy Spirit can work through another in such a mystical way makes us uncomfortable. We are too sophisticated and educated for that. Many well-respected theologians would shun such activity as heresy. I have toyed with that idea myself, and have rejected it.

My faith is more than a ticket to heaven. It is accepting that the Creative Force of the universe is alive in me as I walk my journey on earth. I have accepted by faith that I can have intimate communion with God through Jesus Christ, and that the Holy Spirit dwells within me. If that is true, it seems reasonable that a little bit of supernatural should naturally infiltrate my existence. If it does not, I have cause for concern, and when it does, I should not be surprised.

That day in church, when the preacher was naming scriptures, this is the one that was given to me:

As for you, the anointing you received from him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit—just as it has taught you, remain in him. 1 John 2:27

Throughout my life, I have revisited this passage, and each time it speaks something new and different to me based upon the season I’m currently experiencing.  It was timely then for one purpose, and it is timely now for another. Isn’t that the way the Word of God works?

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Hebrews 4:12

All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. 2 Timothy 3:16

How can I deny the supernatural moving of the Holy Spirit upon that preacher when the poignancy of that verse in 1 John is so profound for me? How can I dismiss the notion that greater things than this are possible in the life of one fully devoted to God?

For more posts like this one, click here!
© Twirling Girl, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Beside Still Waters with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
2 thoughts on “When God Breathes

Leave a Reply

