On the Dark Days

Sometimes the day is just dark. There is no reason or explanation other than I think my soul may be mourning the fact that it is trapped inside such an uninspiring vessel. There is no solution to a dark day other than seeking solace in Divine grace – and dark days make that hard.

So I cling to the truth I’ve hidden in my heart and trust the dawn will break beautifully full of fire and rainbows and my soul will be reminded of its purpose with renewed vision.

To my pitiful concerns:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

To my subtle feeling of defeat:

The thief cometh not, but that he may steal, and kill, and destroy: I came that they may have life, and may have it abundantly. John 10:10

To my longing for a deeper experience with the Divine:

For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. 1 Corinthians 13:12

To my complex female essence:

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
   Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
   for I will yet praise him,
   my Savior and my God. Psalm 43:5

So for now I wait, marinating in God’s promises, and tomorrow:

Then your light will break forth like the dawn,
   and your healing will quickly appear;
Your godliness will lead you forward,
      and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind.

We are permitted dark days. But for a life grounded in the hope of eternity,

For his anger lasts only a moment,
   but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may stay for the night,
   but rejoicing comes in the morning. Psalm 30:5

Just keeping it real.

© Twirling Girl, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Beside Still Waters with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
7 thoughts on “On the Dark Days

  1. Love, love, love this. Jesus answered every temptation with Scripture. Keep fighting the faith. The Word of God is your sword, and your faith is your shield. Thanks for your transparency…

  2. Great post! One of my favorite people tells me “Let your soul dance, sister” and sometimes he goes so far as to advise me to “let your soul dance as though nobody’s watching.” Fortunately, after I make it through those dark moments and days, reflecting on the scripture whether I “feel it” or not, my soul returns to dancing. Thanks be to God! Thanks for a great post!

Leave a Reply

