When Darkness Turns to Light

Summer mornings on the coastlands are foggy. It’s an expected part of life here. So even when the temperature shows 62 degrees, and we are covered in a misty gray blanket, we prepare for a weekend summer outing by donning sunscreen, sandals, sun hats, and shorts. We know the sun will find its way to us before the day is out, so we prepare and behave accordingly. At some point during the day, no one can usually say exactly when it happens because it’s so gradual, we discover we are playing in full, bright sunlight. That’s what it’s like when I wake up to a dark day in my soul. I know the Son will soon be shining, so I prepare for it. I can’t point to the moment it happens, I only know that before long, the fog has dissipated as mysteriously as it settled. My dark day has ended, my head is being lifted, and my soul is playing in the light of God’s love.

But you, O Lord, are a shield around me;
      you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.
 I cried out to the Lord,
      and he answered me from his holy mountain.

Psalm 3:3-4

The Old Prophet phoned last night with an encouraging scripture:

No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice.
      My body rests in safety.
 For you will not leave my soul among the dead
      or allow your holy one to rot in the grave.
 You will show me the way of life,
      granting me the joy of your presence
      and the pleasures of living with you forever.

Psalm 16:9-11

He read it to me and then told me to read it for myself – because it is more powerful when we read scripture on our own. It gives the Holy Spirit more room to speak when it’s just your soul and the Spirit of God in communion.

My circumstances have not changed. It’s my mind that has been renewed. My circumstances are of no consequence. Frankly, to look at my circumstances, I have absolutely no cause for a shroud of fog to ever settle on my soul. I am gloriously blessed with a peaceful, beautiful life of love and fulfillment. Even in my dark days I know this – but they still come.  I get pretty irritated at this strange and un-called-for juxtaposition that presents itself from to time to time for no apparent reason.

I prefer joy. I thrive under hope. I relentlessly grasp at the promises of God until peace floods my soul. I’m so grateful for God’s Word as a lamp to light my path when it seems I’ve become turned around in a dark tunnel.

It is well with my soul.

2 thoughts on “When Darkness Turns to Light

  1. Oh, my dear…you are no ordinary woman!!! You are a beautiful creation of God. A woman whose life is an example to all that Christianity has nothing to do with religion, but a relationship with your creator. I love the lady you have become.

Leave a Reply

