Not Waiting for the Afterlife

Once, in my proverbial peripheral vision I caught a glimpse, and now I am ruined. To have experienced the brush of God’s glory is to have tasted fire, and fire, once tasted, burns away the desire for anything other than more.

I’ve tasted fire I’m ready to come alive

I can’t just shut it up and fake that I’m alright

I’m ready now

I’m not waiting for the afterlife

 

I’ll let it burn the way the sunlight burns my skin

The way I feel inside, the way the day begins

I’m ready now

I’m not waiting for the other side

I’m ready now, I’m ready now

 

Cause everyday the world is made

A chance to change But I feel the same

And I wonder

Why would I wait till I die to come alive?

I’m ready now

I’m not waiting for the afterlife…

 

– Switchfoot, Afterlife

There is a purpose to this life, and it is not simply to be good and hope for paradise in the afterlife. In this life, right now, we can know and experience, enjoy and communicate, with the Divine. It is only on this plane that our eternal souls can find rest while living in our mortal bodies.

Missing out on communion with God now, means missing out on the messy, beautiful and devastating existence of discovering how fulfilling life lived in connection to God can be. Part of life here is learning how to unlock that thing deep inside that is eternal and allow it to grow and shine.

For he has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the Kingdom of his dear Son. Colossians 1:13

The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life. John 10:10

2 thoughts on “Not Waiting for the Afterlife

  1. Oh how I can identify with messy, beautiful, and devastating … But I know that no matter how messy or devastating the situation, His love and grace are more beautiful than anything I could attain without him. And right now, that’s what brings me peace. Thanks for the reminder. Much love!

Leave a Reply

