Smiling at God

Why so serious my child? You come to me in the small morning hours to encounter me, to speak with me, to acknowledge me, and enjoy my presence. Why do you come with such a serious countenance? Would you greet a treasured friend in such a manner? Do you think your look of earnestness will impress me or move me to act on your behalf more swiftly?  Remember, I am the one who knit you together in your mother’s womb. I know you better than you know yourself. You need not put on airs with me. I am already here. How could you think that I would not rush to meet you when you have so lovingly set aside time to meet with me? You do not have to beg for my presence, it is already with you. You do not have to grovel for me to hear you,  I heard your heart’s cry before you formed your thoughts and crafted them into words. So just smile at me my child.  We are the oldest of companions, just smile… See?

Psalm 3:3,  Psalm 139:13,  Hebrews 13:5-6

10 thoughts on “Smiling at God

Leave a Reply

