Supernatural Power – Yeah, I Got That

When I read verses like this…

The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you. Romans 8:11

Or this…

A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil.  For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. Ephesians 6:10-12

Or this…

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth. Acts 1:8

I think of power.

Power that should be mine. Supernatural power. But I don’t feel supernatural. What does that feel like anyway? Would I even know it? I ponder this often. I, a daughter of God, should be more…well…more.

As it turns out, the “power” I’ve been thinking of when I think of supernatural power is, I’m embarrassed to admit, more like what I’ve seen from a Jedi knight, and yet, my Jedi mind tricks don’t seem to work…on anyone. Then, just the other day, epiphany!

When I have been wronged, and I choose forgiveness instead of revenge, that is supernatural power. When I am afraid, and I choose courage, that is supernatural power. When I am insulted and I choose grace, that is supernatural power. When I am angry and I choose peace, that is supernatural power. Whenever I make a choice that is counter to the natural tendencies of human nature, I am demonstrating the Spirit of God that raised Jesus from the dead that lives in me.

And I can sense it. When I choose the natural path of bitterness, revenge, unforgiveness, I become more and more attached to the weak power of this earth, and less and less tuned into the eternal power of God. When I choose grace, forgiveness, kindness, I become more and more aware of the presence of God in my life and less and less attached to the distractions of this world. These supernatural choices propel me toward deep contentment and pave a path of grace before me. I’ll take that kind of life over a Jedi knight any day.

6 thoughts on “Supernatural Power – Yeah, I Got That

    1. Thanks Sarah. Sometimes when I read your posts, I think we are living parallel lives thousands of miles away. Miss you!

  1. when you are able to reach an audience and plant a seed… that is God’s supernatural at work in you. Thank you for that Victoria. I pray the Lord will water what you planted.

Leave a Reply

