One of the All Things

My daughter’s very existence is an answer to prayer. I prayed in earnest for a child, and was blessed with her. She lives every day of her life with the distinction of being an answered prayer. I tell her that. I want her to know that she has a place in the grand design, that when in all things God works, she is one of the “all things.”

You are one of the “all things” too. Listening to that teenager when no one else would, was an answer to his silent prayer.  The widow in the grocery store to whom you gave kindness, had wept through the night because she thought no one cared. The skills you lent to a friend, the smile you gave to a child, your laugh, your tears, your insight, your talent, your presence, your life, are “all things.” Sometimes you will know, because someone will tell you, but regardless, the things that make you uniquely you, are the things that answer the prayers of others. As you move through your day, you are leaving traces of grace in your wake.

Try thinking of yourself as an answered prayer. Don’t dismiss the gentle whisper nudging you to action. It may be the result of someone’s urgent prayer. God, in His sovereignty, may have chosen you to be the transponder through which His mercy is dispensed. You may have been chosen to play a role in the redemption story of another. You may be the one that makes Christ irresistible.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I prayed to my God for help. He heard me from his sanctuary; my cry to him reached his ears. Psalm 18:6

May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope,  encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word. 2 Thessalonians 2:16

8 thoughts on “One of the All Things

  1. Love the post of “Twirling Girl”, Yes, our chuildren are God’s special gifts to us! Wow, how very true that as we move through each day of our lives we do leave traces of grace, sometimes unaware that we do so.

    I pray daily that through my Visitation Ministry I will feel God’s presence to guide me as I pray with my “sheep”. Yesterday I felt God’s hand to guide me as I spoke at a funeral about one of my beloved peopple. This man has also filled my life with joy.

    It was great to see you last Thursday, and I look forward to having lunch with you in the near future. If it is not before Easter, have a blessed Holy Week. Jan

     

    ________________________________

  2. Thank you so much for the reminder that each of us play special roles in others’ lives, whether we know it or not. It makes me feel very valued to be reminded of this fact.

  3. I am so in awe of the wonderful gift God has placed inside of you Vicky! It seems the more you use that lovely gift of writing the better it becomes. You begin this one talking like a Mom who so wanted a child, recognizing where she came from and ended up speaking to each of our hearts, lives and service to God. Grace is such a wondrous gift and that along with love is what is daily within all of our reach as we get into the flow of God’s Kingdom way of being an answered prayer unto others. At times we may know when that takes place but many times we just do and leave the results in God’s loving hands. Thank you for this & I am sharing with all those I love and know. Hugs & love, Myra

Leave a Reply

