Can You Hear the Singing?

Here you are again, full of hurts and heartache, and yet, I have not stopped singing over you, but you have not been still enough to hear it.

You keep looking to others to lend light and joy to your life and you know that’s not their purpose. You think the unjust action of your colleague has made you angry, but it’s your focus on the lesser thing of fairness that has stirred your ire.  Justice is good and right, but I am sweeter, and I offer mercy. You think your spouse’s indifference is breaking your heart, but it’s idolatry that is tearing you up. I am jealous for your affection. I know you, I made you, I called you to me and your wandering heart betrays the sweet existence you could have by relying on me alone for your satisfaction. Those careless words hurt you, I know. Your hard work has been overlooked and your ideas dismissed. You’ve gone unnoticed and underappreciated and you’ve been misunderstood. All these things pale in comparison to me. One day in my presence is worth a thousand elsewhere. Step out of the trap your wrong thinking has laid for you, and start thinking of truth. Offer forgiveness and become untouchable by those who mean you ill. Keep in mind always, that you are my child and anyone who harms you, harms my most precious possession.

“By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence. And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.

In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s promises. Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love for everyone.” 2 Peter 1:3-7

Respond to my promises. Let me whisper gently to you again that I have come to give you a rich and satisfying life, and you have the privilege in this life of practicing my presence in anticipation of the eternity to come when we will at last exist in the same dimension. Take a moment today, to rest in my beauty. Find a quiet place to sit and breathe in my presence. Remember the times I have shown myself faithful. Build an altar in your heart and I will come to you and bless you. Shift your focus away from the flawed and fallible and turn toward the lasting and lovely, and you just watch what I can do!

Zephaniah 3:17, Psalm 46:10, Joel 2:12-14, Deuteronomy 4:23-24, Psalm 139:13, Psalm 84:10, Philippians 4:8, John 10:10, Exodus 20:24
3 thoughts on “Can You Hear the Singing?

  1. This can be for all of us in the Body of Christ Jesus. God speaking words of loving correction by reminding us what lasts and what does not. He loves us so much that we tend to turn to other instead just being quiet before Him. As this reminder touches my own heart to just drink Him and watch all He does out of that love. As earthly Mothers & Dads we seem to forget that God our heavenly Father so desires our love and to be with us each day. Thank you Victoria for the lovely way you have put this so our hearts, minds & souls can take it all in. God bless with blessings & then some. Hugs~

Leave a Reply

