The Artist

The comment with the pin said, “I wish I knew the artist.” If she knew the artist, she could find more of their work, understand the motivation behind it, see how the works complement each other and give meaning to the experience of observing it. If she knew the artist, it would be more than just a painting; it would be an encounter with the creator’s essence.

 I wish I knew the artist

I know an artist. She is compassionate, exuberant, beautiful, kind, creative, deep thinking, generous of spirit and warm hearted. When I view her work, I view it through the lens of her character, and the paint on canvas translates to layers of depth and meaning reaching far beyond the image itself. Knowing this artist gives shape and context to each piece. I see how she has captured sweet memories in colored drama. I can hear her whispers of love and hope in the brush strokes. They are all there, laid bare, if you know her. If you don’t, you can only guess at meaning and intention. I know this artist, and it changes my experience of her work.

Grant Peace: Beth Whitcomb
Grant Peace: Beth Whitcomb

I know another Artist, whose canvas is the universe, and whose love condescends to me. To witness a sunset is to hear the heartbeat of God. The painting of creation was commissioned by God to speak to my deepest need. How can I but stand in awestruck wonder at the power of the ocean and marvel at the intricacies of a passion vine? All of creation is wooing me and drawing me in, and when I am ruined by its beauty I have nowhere to turn but to the Artist who has been revealed in every burst of color and light. I know this Artist, and I can hear the whispers of love, and grace in the gentle breeze, and the proclamation of eternity in the expanse of the heavens.

Robert Cheatham Photography
Robert Cheatham Photography

The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
The skies display his craftsmanship.
Day after day they continue to speak;
night after night they make him known.
They speak without a sound or word;
their voice is never heard.
Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,
and their words to all the world. Psalm 19:1-4

3 thoughts on “The Artist

  1. Absolutely lovely! I especially like the Grant Peace. If we take time to look, we can see God everywhere. Isn’t that exciting! Hope you are having a great day. Blessings, Jan

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

